Ernst Schmitz Price

The Ernst Schmitz Prize is awarded annually by GFKT to young plastics technicians.

What is the Ernst Schmitz Prize?

This award is intended to keep the memory of Ernst Schmitz alive, as a great pioneer of training engineers in plastics technology and the founder of the Laboratory for Plastics Technology (LKT GmbH).

“The focus is on the person”

This guiding principle of Wilhelm Exner, the founder of the Technological Trade Museum (TGM), was Ernst Schmitz’ first and most important motto throughout his career. Schmitz’ life was characterized by an eye for the essentials of technical development, by moral courage and initiative – even without orders or instructions. His credo “Priority of the organic over the organizational, of life over the formalism” lives on in the Ernst Schmitz Prize which is awarded to young plastics technicians who successfully work for harmony between man and technology.

The Ernst Schmitz Prize is intended to encourage young technicians to work for great values that serve people and the planet:

Trust, confidence, and humanity.

The GFKT Board of Directors and the Board of Trustees are the jurors for the prize.

More about Ernst Schmitz

Award winners

  • 1987          Ing. Rudolf Schwaminger
  • 1988          KR Ing. Leopold Katzmayer
  • 1989          Ing. E. Seitl
  • 1990          Dipl.-Päd. Ing. Kurt Umgeher
  • 1992          DI Ernst Thun
  • 1993          DI Andrea Ecker
  • 1994          Ing. Helmut Tesar
  • 1995          Ing. Karl Bohaty
  • 1996          Ing. Christian Glück
  • 1997          Ing. Thomas Rhomberg
  • 1998          Ing. Franz Kaes
  • 1999          DI Egon Brenner
  • 2000          Ing. Wolfgang Huszar
  • 2001          Ing. Rainer Kaltenbrunner
  • 2002          Dipl.-HTL Ing. Peter Pokorny
  • 2003          DI (FH) Reinhard Zimmel
  • 2004          DI (FH) Martin Klempa
  • 2005          DI Beate Guschal
  • 2006          Ing. Frank Böhler
  • 2007          Dipl.-HTL-Ing. Markus Wersonig
  • 2008          DI (FH) Martin Lehner
  • 2009          Ing. Martin Schlager
  • 2010          Ing. Andreas Eder BSc
  • 2011          DI (FH) Stephan Pieringer
  • 2012          Ing. Mag. Markus Brunnthaler
  • 2013          Ing. Andreas Steurer
  • 2014          DI (FH) Wolfgang Roth MSc
  • 2015          Ing. Thomas Mallinger
  • 2017          Joachim Kragl und Ing. Michael Winkler
  • 2018          Ing. Martin Baldauf
  • 2019          Ing. Luana Köttler

Borealis Innovation Award

Since 2017, the Borealis Innovation Award has been received annually by the best diploma thesis from the Technical College for Plastics Technology at the TGM in Vienna, which recognizes the achievements of young and future professionals and the importance of training for the industry.

Supporting young talents and recognizing innovative achievements in the areas of material development, recycling, plastics chemistry, process engineering, and materials testing is very important to Borealis.

The ceremonial presentation of the awards, which are highly regarded in the industry, takes place, in good tradition, by representatives from Borealis in the presence of numerous representatives from the industry and members of GFKT.

Award winners

    • 2006
      • 1st place: Christof Haas, Florian Pecher, Andreas Wallner
      • 2nd place: Christine Lastufka, Angelika Süss
      • 3rd place: Ingrid Harrant, Cornelia Koch, Nadine Turtenwald
    • 2007
      • 1st place: Martin Angerer, Matthias Gürtner und Alexander Halper
      • 2nd place: Martin Roschitz und Martin Steiner
      • 3rd place: Christian Haberreiter und Stefan Scheibrein
    • 2008
      • 1st place: Christopher Fischer und Florian Thallinger
      • 2nd place: Iris Grüneis, Thomas Scheibrein und Clemens Steffel
      • 3rd place: Florian Aumair und Robert Hladky
    • 2009
      • 1st place: Thomas Pulker und Bernhard Steyrer
      • 2nd place: Christian Frank und Christian Kohlhofer
      • 3rd place: Raphael Balogh und Georg Ude
    • 2010
      • 1st place: Lukas Schubtschik, Markus Schwab
      • 2nd place: Dominik Strommer, Paul Werner
      • 3rd place: Stefan Maier, Benjamin Steigl
    • 2011
      • 1st place: Dominic Masz und Mihael Petrovic
      • 2nd place: Engelbert Hirner und Markus Resel
      • 3rd place: Manuel Grossfurtner und Christopher Protz
    • 2012
      • 1st place: Matheo Filz und Matthias Palmetshofer
      • 2nd place: Elisabeth Neudeck, Philipp Rechberger und Christoph Schattauer
      • 3rd place: Nemanja Dimitrijevic und Thomas Wolf
    • 2013
      • 1st place: Sabine Ott und Miriam Wirnig
      • 2nd place: Raphael Lang und Alexander Lehner-Jettmar
      • 3rd place: Roman Epp und Julian Havel
    • 2014
      • 1st place: Christoph Bruckner und Alexander Kugler
      • 2nd place: Sandra Czaker, Matthias Frühwirth und Michael Singer
      • 3rd place: Kim Baumann, Johann Glawar und Stefan Zehetmayer
        also  Lukas Motloch und Roman Staudigl
        also  Sebastian Wasylewski und Johannes Winkler
    • 2015
      • 1st place: Christina Buchberger und Christina Mejavsek
      • 2nd place: Peter Boga und Nick Kiszner
      • 3rd place: Sabrina Strobel und Katrin Wustinger
    • 2016
      • 1st place: Theresa Geyer und Zorana Hrgovic
      • 2nd place: Lisa Eichler und Michael Ludwig
      • 3rd place: Dominic Bischof und Jasmin Weilinger
    • 2017
      • 1st place: Sebastian Hummer und Sebastian Parcer
      • 2nd place: Daniel Manlig
      • 3rd place: Tobias Weberhofer und Jovan Zecevic
    • 2018
      • 1st place: Jasmine Bremser und Peter Graser
      • 2nd place: Kevin Jurkivič und Jakob Reindl
        also  Andreas Kenthol und Katharina Lechner
        also  Samantha Onderka und Katharina Schleinzer
    • 2019
      • 1st place: Maximilian Hartmann und Viraj Rath
      • 2nd place: Vanessa Pichler und Paul Weiss
      • 3rd place: Anna-Maria Monks und Judith Nachbagauer
    • 2020
      • 1st place: Sebastian Fembek und Stefan Kommer
      • 2nd place: Natalie Draxler und Dennis Gettinger
      • 3rd place: Niklas Kanovsky und Paul Koll
    • 2021
      No placing in this year

      • Mehmed Mehmedi und Ahmed Soliman
      • Emil Ramsauer und Felix Syrch
      • Nico Paunovic und Lukas Wilhelm
      • Corinna Schadler und Arabella Schmid